Decisions, part 2

Apologies for the intrigue in my previous post, and then disappearing. All I have to excuse my absence is ‘end of term’ (fellow teachers will understand). I’m afraid what follows is now very likely to be an anti-climax!

In case you hadn’t picked up on it, for the past little while I’ve been feeling rather unhappy in my job. A combination of lots of different things, including the balance of juggling work and family, a very long commute, and then some other factors I can’t go into here.

I’ve been there for almost 9 years…as one of my colleagues said, I’ve gone from girl to mother since I started. It has been a constant in my life for a really long time. So feeling unhappy there has been very discomforting. In fact, I hadn’t really realised quite how it had been weighing on me until the last couple of weeks.

Then, a couple of chance encounters and discussions led to me meeting with a headteacher for a ‘chat’, and a subsequent job offer. I still can’t really believe how easily it has all slotted in to place. If I believed in signs, this had to be a huge great neon flashing one.

PhotoFunia-1450788409

There was one slight hiccup when, having spoken to my current Head and pretty much getting the early release from my contract I need to be able to take the job, circumstances led her to retract this the following day. Not a happy moment as I saw the escape I had all planned out slipping away. In fact, I was quite surprised by the strength of my emotions when I thought it suddenly may not be possible. I’m still quite impressed with myself for how I resolved it in the end – by first having a rather major meltdown (ok, this bit wasn’t so impressive) and then discussing my Head’s concerns very calmly and rationally and doing a good bit of positive problem solving.

So, as of the end of February, I will be a Year 1 teacher. Gulp. Better get practising my phonics. So that’s what I’ll use the extra hour and a half I’ll gain each day without my commute. But most of all, I’m so excited by the potential to fall back in love with teaching again. Can’t wait!

One thought on “Decisions, part 2

Leave a Reply

